UAlg celebrates anniversary with concert by Orquestra Clássica do Sul

On the 11th of December, at 21h00, a concert by the Orquestra Clássica do Sul will take place in the Gambelas auditorium, as part of the commemorations of the Algarve University Day.

Directed by Rui Pinheiro, the concert will be dedicated to the theme “On the 200th anniversary of Napoleon’s death”.

Free admission subject to room capacity. Digital certificate or a negative test.

Informações: +351 289 800 073






L. BEETHOVEN (1770 - 1827)

Symphony nº 3 “Heroic”


I.                 Allegro con brio

II.               Marcia funebre: Adagio assai em dó menor

III.              Scherzo: Allegro vivace

IV.             Finale: Allegro molto


Principal Conductor: Rui Pinheiro

Duration: 60 minutes


Napolean Bonaparte dominated European and global affairs for more than a decade when he led France against a series of coalitions in the Napoleonic Wars. To mark the 200 hundred years since his death, this concert brings together two works which recall us to that era of history.

Programme Notes

“Eu.rope” is a work by Luís Soldado, a composer who, in 2017, worked with the Orquestra Clássica do Sul and who, in the same year, premiered in the inaugural concert of the Algarve International Music Festival (FIMA). In this work, the author reflects on what it is to be European in a global world, and how Europe should look to its cultural and intellectual heritage to re-invent itself.

“A heroic symphony, composed to celebrate the memory of a great man” is what we read in the inscription in the first edition of Beethoven’s Third Symphony. The latter was an admirer of the ideals behind the French Revolution and thought of Napoleon

Bonaparte as a personification of himself. For this reason, he intended to dedicate a symphony to him, initially calling it “Bonaparte”. But he changed his mind when Napoleon declared himself Emperor and, after an attack of rage at seeing him becoming a tyrant, he erased the name Bonaparte from the title of the work, changing it to Eroica Symphony. The “Heróica” marks the moment when Classicism evolved into Romanticism, given its wide emotional range.